Marhofn 294.17 - May 2015

Previous | Contents | Next

Changes to the Hall of Fame

Alan Dawson

From the end of 2015 there will be changes to the way the Hall of Fame is compiled and published. The Hall will be split into two sections; active and archive. The active section will continue to function as at present, except that we will no longer record country totals or completion of lists other than Marilyns. The archive section will include members who are inactive or have retired from bagging, or are no longer with us, or who no longer wish to be bothered each year by the membership secretary asking for their totals.

Anyone who wishes to be moved to the archive section simply has to let us know once and we will not bother them again. Anyone who does not report their total for two successive years will be moved to the archive section automatically. Should circumstances change, anyone can be moved back to the active section simply by letting us know.

Members at or near the wall at the end of the Hall can be regarded as active even if they do not add to their total, as it is possible that more new Marilyns may appear before the surveying of marginal hills has been completed.

Active members are strongly encouraged to add their logs to the website and to keep them up to date at regular intervals, particularly at the end of each year. Annual totals can still be submitted by email or by post.

In summary, all Hall members should EITHER:

Some Hall of Fame statistics

This year's Hall table includes the section number of first Marilyns, which is known for 289 of 294 current members. This shows that first Marilyns are drawn from 59 different sections, but none from regions 5, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 22, 23, 25 or 33. Most popular sections are 34B with 23, 26 and 30B (16 each), 1C and 28A (14 each).

There have been 138 different first Marilyns, the most common being Snowdon (11), Arthur's Seat (10), Scafell Pike and Tinto (9 each), Worcestershire Beacon (8), Ben Lomond, Great Gable, Great Orme and Lochnagar (7 each), Ben Nevis, Leith Hill and The Wrekin (6 each), then East Lomond, Moel Famau and Schiehallion (5 each). One of the least likely first Marilyns was Dale Allan's Troweir Hill. Ah well.

The most common name for a 600th Marilyn is Beinn na h-Eaglaise (3 in 13B, one in 10A). Other hills with three 600ths chalked up are Eildon Mid Hill (28B), Meall a'Chaorainn (14B), Stac Gorm (9B) and Wideford Hill (23). Beinn na h-Eaglaise (13B) did not involve a couple, so is the only hill that has witnessed a Hall entry on three different occasions.

No hill has yet featured in three Upper Hall entries. The only hills that have been a first Marilyn, a 600th and a 1000th are Arthur's Seat, Ben Venue, Cademuir Hill, North Berwick Law and Yr Eifl.

By an amazing coincidence, the only two final Marilyns to date have both been on the same summit and on the same day, though not at the same time. It is not known whether the Mclellans intend to keep to this bizarre precedent.

Previous | Contents | Next